Robert Edge Pine, The Congress Voting Independence, circa 1785, completed by Edward Savage in 1790.
Close Window

Oil on canvas of a jubilant crowd listening to the Reading of the Declaration of Independence.
Oil on canvas of Congress Voting the Declaration of Independence, c. 1776.
Jefferson is a tall person depositing the Declaration of Independence on the table. Benjamin Franklin sits to his right. John Hancock (1737-1793) sits behind the table. Fellow committee members, John Adams, Roger Sherman (1721-1793), and Robert R. Livingston (1746-1813) stand (left to right) behind Jefferson.

Credit: Courtesy of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania Collection, Atwater Kent Museum of Philadelphia

Because there is no known image of the interior of the State House from the time of the American Revolution, the National Park Service used this painting by Robert Edge Pine, which Edward Savage completed after Pine's death, during its restoration of Independence Hall Chamber.  When Pine painted the interior of the State House in 1785 it had not been altered since the American Revolution. 

Back to Top