Map of The Northwest Territory, 1787.
Close Window

Map of The Northwest Territory, 1787.

In 1787, Pennsylvanian Arthur St. Clair was appointed governor of the newly created Northwest Territory, which included what is now Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, and Michigan, as well as parts of Wisconsin and Minnesota. A member of the Society of the Cincinnati, formed by officers who served in the American Revolution, St. Clair named Cincinnati, Ohio, for the Fifth Century Roman farmer general Cincinnatus, and there established his government. When the Northwest Territory was subdivided in 1800, and St. Clair became governor of Ohio.

Back to Top